×
Menu
Index

Task Information Window

 
The Task Information window is displayed when a task is opened from the Gantt, added via the Ribbon Bar, or selected in the Child Tasks tab of the Project Information window. Tasks can be used to break a project down into smaller activities. A task can only be added to an existing project or task; tasks do not contain estimated costs or funding executions. The Task tab is discussed below; the other tabs are covered separately.
 
Task Information Window
 
1

Title

1. Title
If editing an existing task, the title includes the task identifier.
2

Tabs

2. Tabs
The Task Information window contains tabs that are used to fully describe the task.
3

Fields

3. Fields
  •  Identifier: short label used in the title and the logs to uniquely identify the task
  •  Title: text label that names the task; it is a good practice to use a descriptive name that others can readily understand
  •  Period of Performance: defines the task's schedule. The default dates are the project's dates and can be changed. Start dates must be after 1/1/1753, and End dates must be before 12/31/9999. A warning message pops up if your dates are outside this range. Once the start date is entered, the end date can either be selected or calculated using the values in the Duration fields. The duration will be automatically calculated if an end date was selected. If the task dates are not within the project’s dates, the type cell in the Gantt view will turn red noting a schedule error (this can also be seen in the Logs view).
  •  Status: current stage of the task. Default values are Approved, Canceled, Complete, Draft, Funded, Pre-Approval, and Tracking; a new status can also be created by typing the name into the field.
  •  Organization: group responsible for completing the task. You can create a new organization by typing the name into the field, or choose an existing organization from the menu.
4

Window Buttons

4. Window Buttons
The Clear Changes button resets all fields on all tabs of the Task Information window to the original values; it is only available when editing an existing task. The Delete button immediately removes the current task and all of its children. This button is only available when editing an existing task. A confirmation window pops up:
The Apply button saves edits made in any tab of the Task Information window, and then closes the window. The Cancel button reverses edits made in any tab of the Task Information window, and then closes the window.
 
© 2019 Exostrategies, Inc.